We are back from our spontaneous road trip.  It wasn’t too terribly bad.  For those that were/are praying for my family, I cannot express to you the gratitude that I’m feeling.  It’s such a tremendous feeling to know that my friends are worried for my family, and can find it in their hearts to pray for a man that they’ve not met.  So, thank you, thank you, thank you.

I finished my new Dexter book, and have now moved onto less green pastures.

Still working on The Two Towers.  I didn’t get a chance to read it much while we were staying with my mom.  Everyone was so exhausted from the drive, and then the constant go-go-go of being in your hometown (hospital visits, eating at the places that I never get to eat at, and stocking up my Oklahoma State gear), that there wasn’t much energy left for reading at the end of the day.

On the way home today, I finally (actually) started Wuthering Heights.  But let me tell you, I have never in my life read a book with so many introductions.  First, there’s the customary introduction by another author (these are very common among older “classics” in their reprints), telling the reader how much they love this book, and what it means to them as a fellow author.  Then, there was the introduction from Charlotte Bronte (the author’s sister), letting the reader know that the books she and her sisters published were in fact written by women, and not men, as they first led their audience to believe.  And then there was an introduction, again by Charlotte Bronte, warning the reader that the language and dialect used in the story might be hard to understand.  Duh Charlotte, the book was written in 1847, it’s definitely gonna be a bit hard to understand.  And then there was yet another introduction by Ms. Bronte, telling the reader that she edited the book after her sister’s death.  And then the story starts.

And the book I’m most excited to be reading this week…The Hunger Games!  The movie comes out on Friday (the 13-year-old fan girl in me is screaming her head off), and I might be more excited about this one movie than the last movie I was so excited to see.  Harry Potter, you’ll always have my heart, but Katniss Everdeen is giving you a run for your money.  I’m re-reading this book in preparation for the movie.  I like to have the story really fresh in my mind when I’m seeing film adaptions.  I’ve heard this one isn’t that far off-base from the book, which thrills me.  The story is so absolutely perfect the way it is, there’s no reason at all to change it.  Of course, some changes have to be made, as most of the story is an inner dialogue of the main character, Katniss.  T and I will probably be seeing this movie on Sunday morning, and I am stoked!

That’s what I’m reading this week.  Be sure to check me out next week, hopefully I’ll have some titles changed by then.  Wish me luck!  🙂

