The date night.

I love date night.  Last week, I partook in a date night.  Alone.  With myself.  It.  Was.  Awesome.

Thursday afternoon, T called to let me know that he would be taking Little T on a weekend trip to the deer lease.  I immediately had a panic attack.  Take my baby?  For 3 days?  Without me? I’m not afraid to admit, the idea grew on me.  After my initial heart attack subsided.  I could clean without tiny hands undoing my work.  I could read in silence, with no Elmo in the background.  I could go to that movie that I saw the previous week again, with no one judging me.

So, I planned a date night with myself.  I went to my favorite nail salon and got a (much-needed) pedicure and manicure.  I went to the mall and walked around leisurely, without worrying about keeping a small person entertained with an endless pile of Goldfish.  I saw a movie at 8:10pm on a Thursday night, with only 4 other people in the whole theater.  And the best part?  I didn’t have to worry about a bedtime.

Of course, I missed my small human.  And if we’re being honest, I missed my big human too.  My boys make my world go around.  They are the center of my universe.  Nothing else matters, as long as they’re taken care of.

But sometimes you have to take a step back, and think about yourself.  Was a manicure and a pedicure an absolute need?  Not really, but I sure do feel better about myself when my hands and feet are pretty.  And if I feel better about myself, I can be a better wife and mother.  Trust me, it makes sense, at least for me.

I’ve been that way for as long as I can remember.  I can be having the worst possible day, but a new book will remove the clouds that hover overhead.  If I wake up in a horrible mood, I know that a little makeup and clean hair will do wonders to brighten my outlook on life.  If I look bad, I feel bad.  It’s that simple.

I challenge you to do something for you.  And only for you.  We spend so much of our time (especially my mama and wifey friends) worrying about others, and taking care of others, and making sure everyone’s needs are met before our own.  And there’s nothing wrong with that.  But we also need to put ourselves first every now and again.

So, do it.  Do something for yourself.  Dinner can wait a few minutes.  I promise.

 

