Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Summary:  Many people, generally those who have never read the book, consider Wuthering Heights to be a straightforward, if intense, love story — Romeo and Juliet on the Yorkshire Moors. But this is a mistake. Really the story is one of revenge. It follows the life of Heathcliff, a mysterious gypsy-like person, from childhood (about seven years old) to his death in his late thirties. Heathcliff rises in his adopted family and then is reduced to the status of a servant, running away when the young woman he loves decides to marry another. He returns later, rich and educated and sets about gaining his revenge on the two families that he believed ruined his life.

Synopsis courtesy of The Reader’s Guide to Wuthering Heights.

Brookie’s Review:  I finally finished this book.  I feel like it took ages.  Because it did.  You know, it’s not as bad as I expected it to be.  I know that sounds horrible, considering this is classic literature, and I should be clamoring to read it.  But I wasn’t.  Why?  I’ll let you in on a little secret – I’m not a fan of the classics.

Some people are.  I have friends that will fall out of their chairs in a dead faint when someone mentions Mr. Darcy or Heathcliff.  I am not one of these people.  And I know what you’re going to ask – why did you read it?  Because I like to challenge myself sometimes.  I like to have a working knowledge of the classics.  I don’t want to be the one person that hasn’t even thumbed through Sense and Sensibility (which I actually have read) or Moby Dick (which I have not).  If I’m telling the truth, which I usually am around here, the classics mostly bore me.  I find the language difficult.  Not because I have a limited vocabulary, because I don’t.  I think it’s because I have a short attention span.  These classical writers take an entire paragraph to describe a single shrub.  I appreciate the imagery, truly, but I’m more of a cut to the chase girl.  Some people love the classics for that reason – the words.  And while I am a word person, it’s just not my gig.  I will continue to read the classics of course, because I like to broaden my horizons when it comes to the literary front.

Now, onto the good stuff.  Heathcliff is one crazy dude.  For serious.  He’s definitely earned a spot on my list of Top 10 villains.  I’m pretty sure I’ve got him right behind Lord Voldemort, who now resides at number one.  Heathcliff isn’t broody-sexy like some other literary bad boys (I’m lookin’ at you Edward Cullen), he’s just a bad person, straight down to his core.  The man kills a puppy y’all, for no better reason than just to do it.  So few villains act the way they do out of pure spite, but Heathcliff is one of them.

Surprisingly, there aren’t too many characters in this book.  And it’s also one of the few books in which I don’t have a favorite.  No one jumped out at me, as if to say, “Me!  I’m awesome!”  Which is strange, because there’s usually always one character that I feel strongly about.  Not this time, unless you count my vehement hatred toward Heathcliff.

I’m glad I finished this book, though it was much easier to read than some of the other books I’ve picked up from this time period.  I won’t tell you to read it.  If you’re interested in the classics, chances are you’ve already read it once or twice.

 

